How do you decide your stack?

ยท

4 min read

Hi ๐Ÿ‘‹,

A lot of people will wonder about the title, but if you think about it, how many times do you wonder if you are dedicating the right time to the right programming language? How many times do you start asking yourself why you have to pick one and follow a specific path? Of course, this is normal, and this will happen at one point. In my case, I went to college for web & app development but my classes were focused more on Design. Meaning that I fell in love with Design but at the same time, I didn't want to stick only with UI/UX Design since I like to put my hands around projects, but at this point, I was like "What else can I do to start programming?" So, I decided to do some web development and learn HTML, CSS & Javascript through Free Code Camp. At this point, I learn basic Data Structures & Algorithms, and for this, I started to feel that I wanted to get a job as a web developer.

Two years later, I was able to get the experience, but I started to get bored because I feel that I can't stick with one thing for the rest of my life. Then, I moved on to start working as a freelancer to do UX Design & Web Development. So, I started to work with Small & Medium Companies to build websites and e-commerce to gain experience as a Designer and as a Developer. From here, I noticed one huge & big opportunity that will help businesses to reduce cost and increase productivity for every single one of their teams, and this will be related to Automation & Cloud Services.

By seeing this opportunity my desire for learning something new was extremely high. The new stack that I wanted to learn was Automation through python, selenium, cypress & see it is an existing course that will allow me to learn about networking and cloud infrastructure.

These three courses helped me to get the knowledge that I need to start helping more people, and doing that helped me to get my two most recent jobs which it was Software QA Automation & DevOps. At the time that I got these jobs, I started to learn new strategies to know how to test, and how to deploy and secure applications.

Meaning that I started to learn the following:

Now, the opportunity to grow is more since the tools that I have been learning are more than I ever expected. However, the chance of deciding what I want to do and how to do it is way different. The reason for this is because if you work for a company will always be under rules and conditions instead of having the freedom of choosing what you want to use and how you want to build it.

So, the question again in here is How do you decide your stack? In my opinion, the best way to decide is to see the opportunity that you have as a Software Engineer or Web Developer since you will acquire many different skills, and you will have to decide what you want, and at the end of the day, you will have to enjoy what you do every single day to be able to choose or to decide the best thing for you.

What I'm trying to say here is that you don't have to feel bad if you would like to do Design, Development, Automation, and Deployments. This will give you a higher chance to do more in the future. Love what you do while you are doing, and learn from the process.

If you want to learn more about me, check out my social media Andres Haro & Follow me on Twitter & Website. If you want to learn how to code, I will highly recommend you to sign-up with Nucamp at this link

ย